Leadership Awards

Young Athlete Saskatchewan (YAS) was founded in Regina in 1975 as an International Women’s Year project with collaboration by coaches of the Regina Church Basketball Association (RCBA) and teachers from Regina’s Public and Catholic School Divisions. YAS became Co-Ed. in 1976. In 1983, with assistance of university faculty, teachers and community league leaders in Saskatoon, YAS was expanded to Saskatoon.

During its 43 summers, YAS summer basketball camps have graduated 14,076 young athletes from 276 Saskatchewan, national and international communities.

Equipped with the individual and teamwork skills and the confidence they developed at YAS camps, YAS graduates typically return to their regular schools and ommunities to take positive leadership roles in basketball, other athletics, academics, and overall school and community activities.

As an extra feature, the YAS program strongly promotes and motivates youths toward physical fitness, proper nutrition and healthy lifestyles. Feedback from parents has been very appreciative in this latter feature as well as for YAS’s ability to quickly develop each youth’s basketball skills within an atmosphere of fun and friendship.

At its December 2018 meeting, the YAS Board approved the persons listed below as recipients of YAS 2018 Leadership Awards. The recipients include over 65 out of the 388 YAS 2018 camps graduates as well as other leaders such as coaches, instructors, referees, mall kiosk attendants, mailing clerks and others who selflessly contributed toward making YAS 2018 a huge success.

Last Name First Name Community
Adekeye Tobi Regina
Arcand Quinnlyn Leask
Azures Kenneth Saskatoon
Baht Zoey Regina
Beaver Gerald Prince Albert
Blue Seth Hague
Boe Philippe Regina
Bossé Erik Langham
Candish Dolyn Regina
Coté Kyler Kindersley
Crowter Liam Saskatoon
Drummond Liam Saskatoon
Ens Joshua Regina
Etagiuri Abdu Regina
Ferguson Venus Regina
Fosseneuve Peter Saskatoon
Fosseneuve Tyris Saskatoon
Galvez Mckenzie North Battleford
Geddes Jorja North Battleford
Giesbrecht Johnny Saskatoon
Gopher Zarelle North Battleford
Haider Annum Saskatoon
Hall Robb Saskatoon
Harrower Austin Creighton
Hatungimana Kim Regina
Hrycak Dixon Kindersley
Hu Lucy Saskatoon
Isely Chase Saskatoon
Jones Oliver Pilot Butte
Joyce Adam Regina
Joyes Carson Clavet
Kahindo Jadon Saskatoon
Kaushik Tejas Saskatoon
Kirby Reece Balgonie
Komarnicki Brodie Saskatoon
Lees Jeremy Regina
Leonhardt Paige Saskatoon
Levesque Daxen Regina
Li Eric Regina
Liu Andrew Regina
MacSymetz Talia Vanscoy
McDermott Bruce Flin Flon MB
McInnis Duncan Saskatoon
Mihalicz Zach Raymore
Mohle Jovie Moose Jaw
Musavuli Oliviér Saskatoon
Nguyen Man Regina
North B J Saskatoon
Novilla Ammiel Warman
Pasap Kellan Regina
Pavloff Erik Saskatoon
Payant Thais Vibank
Perron Lakota Cudworth
Rathgeber Alyssa Saskatoon
Reineke Rebecca Humboldt
Reiss Maynard Regina
Roach Alexus Humboldt
Rogers Logan Melfort
Ruot Yuel Saskatoon
Schick Brayden Osler
Semchyshen Oscar Beaver County AB
Slugoski Kole Creighton
Smith Linda Saskatoon
Starr Tyrell North Battleford
Thuricke Michael Regina
Tootoosis Jacob Meadow Lake
Torresan Kelly Vanscoy
Vogelie MacKenna Maymont
Wagner Carter Grandora
Wilkins Robyn Regina
Windigo Isaiah Indian Head
Witkowski Addison Medicine Hat AB
Yuen Kalen Saskatoon
Zimmerman Keithan Lumsden

Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑